Skip to main content

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: patkelley Date: Nov 28, 2006 6:45am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Show reviews on this site SUCK

This is really not aimed at anyone who posts here, because I rarely see any of these names in the reviews after the setlists for shows. But has anyone ever noticed that most of the reviews are written in almost completely unintelligable gibberish. Those people cant even form a thought, let alone a sentence. It sucks because sometimes you'd like to get some insight before listening or downloading, but you get something like: fungus amongus; GD into Jerry was Weir and his screams. man what a campfire wish it was still here. second set slow then good encore. cant place a tune named if not my first show. jerry on, man!
Anyone else get pissed about this?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: dyermaker81 Date: Nov 28, 2006 11:24am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

reviews of reviews suck. haha j/k :)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: matt`C Date: Nov 28, 2006 11:57am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

DR FLASHBACK and Capn Double Dose!!! Read their stuff,top notch, fuck the rest of them

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Nov 28, 2006 2:02pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Gee! That's not very nice.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Nov 28, 2006 7:58pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

LOL! AWESOME!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Nov 28, 2006 12:25pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Too good...

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Nov 28, 2006 9:46am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Sorry--had to add: I initially went with only downloading 5 star shows, and this works: these are all good quality (sound especially, which is important to me). I then moved to 4 and 4.5 star shows, and they are good, but not as good, etc. So, I will say that following the bottom line is useful.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Max Chorak Date: Nov 28, 2006 10:18am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Yep.. however I am moreeee than certain you are missing out on some real gems.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Nov 28, 2006 12:00pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Oh yeah...you've got that right. But, so many years of such poor quality tapes in the 70s put me in the mood to just be a quality snob and listen to the best of the best (fortunately, there is so much of that I can be satisfied for a long time...then, I'll move down to 3 stars, etc.).

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Nov 28, 2006 7:15am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Agreed, but you can almost always find a few good ones, and it doesn't take long to know the good ones by name and simply search for them (the Doctor, etc.). This was addressed in a thread not too long ago, the one on 'who are the best reviewers at this site?' so you could look that over to find out what folks thought...but I assume you were here for that one, so perhaps you just wanted to make it plain, which is fine by me.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: grendelschoice Date: Nov 28, 2006 10:21am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

I know i've already mentioned this on another similar thread, but it's worth repeating: I totally agree with you and it drives me nuts.

I'll say it again: I want 2 things and two things only from a review. 1) As objective as possible as to the performance of the band and 2) The Sound quality of the available source.

The majority of the reviews i've seen are littered with what # show it was for someone, how they got there, how hard they tripped, foam-at-the-mouth rants about Donna, or--my favorite--how much better a show was ON A DIFFERENT NIGHT. The idea, I guess, being that if I clicked over to the other night's show, i'd get a review of the show I thought I was getting just now.

Look, i'm not saying i'm the best reviewer around, but I do try hard to stick to that simple criteria. One of the things that really drew me to the site was reviews from the other 10% (most who post here) that helped me sift thru the thousands of shows so i'm not wasting time DL-ing junk.

As long as i'm kvetching here, I'll mention that what the good reviewers do, and i wish others would do more of--is list specifically which songs in the show stand out and why. Seems simple but it's surprising how often that's omitted.

I really depend on the reviews, and appreciate when someone approaches it like, well, a real reviewer would.

This post was modified by grendelschoice on 2006-11-28 18:21:37

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: patkelley Date: Nov 28, 2006 10:39am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

I agree totally with your idea of the ideal review. In all honesty, I like all GD shows, but I dont want to d/l something with fantastic reviews and great personal stories and then listen to it and it sounds like it was recorded in a bathtub with the water running.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: BlueMtnMan Date: Nov 28, 2006 7:58am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Always enjoy reading the reviews myself. Not that some reviewers aren't full of it, but they do help me narrow the field. Always stream several tunes before downloading anyway. So what do you suggest or are you just bitching?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Max Chorak Date: Nov 28, 2006 9:45am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

You are so right bro. I was wondering if anyone else thought the same thing... Honestly there shouldnt be those star ratings.. i'm fine with the reviews (because people get out their experiences), even though a lot of idiots are like "sound sucks, jerrys playing is shit" and its obvious they listened to a song at most from that show.

To be honest.. I fall under the trap that the 5 star rated shows are supposed to be better than a 3.. so I often miss out.. I think if there were no star ratings, a lot of gems would start to turn up.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Nov 28, 2006 2:27pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Don't know if I'm in the minority here or not but I allmost NEVER use the reviews. If there are a millioon reviews for a show I haven't already heard or already know about then that might spark my interst to investigate further ( ie listen to it ), but I've never downloaded before I gave at least a scan through for at least sound quality. Performance quality is just too subjective. EVERY listen paints it's own aural painting to me.

The few reveiws I've written here I allways keep pretty brief and usually I pick the reviews I do for shows I think are way under represented or under rated.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: cream-puff-war Date: Nov 28, 2006 4:19pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Hardly anyone reads my reviews since they're on shows from 1966-1970.

I go overboard trying to wring last drops of memories about the 1970 shows I went to, which I feel are miles above all the other GD shows I attended from 1973-1991.

But my passion for GD archives is mainly for those raw rollicking high energy '60s shows I didn't actually go to. Give me frantic youth and crazed psychedelia any day.

I loved the 2nd double live Dead LP when it came out in 1971. I remember it got a lot of FM airplay in Boulder, Colorado that year.

But when I first listened to Europe '72 - the triple live (studio enhanced?) LP in 1973, I was like, "huh?"

It didn't connect with me then... my 1st impressions were, what happened to these guys' sense of precision and daring do... it sounded weak and rambling, stumbling and uncertain, boogie-loo at best, but without the thunder of the 1st Live Dead LP, without the forward strides of the 2 brilliant studio LPs (WD and AB) or the 2nd live double (SF)

So, read my reviews at own risk, if ever!

But, at least I can stand 1972 shows now, and will watch and listen to post '72 shows often because a review found here adds to a forum recommendation... so they can infect even a back pages bone head like myself.
As for the occasional insanity in some reviews, what else would I expect from dead heads rooted in the tie-die years (post 1972)?

I agree that Capt. Doubledose and the ones mentioned on this thread are often the best reviews overall.
Variety is the spice, especially when you're looking at 10+ reviews for a given show, and I enjoy the interactive bashing and all that - the more controversy, the more passion, the better.

It beats rote a-b-c reviews... that could get boring page after page, right?

And of course, some of us besides me date back to the '60s (remember the ''60s?) But few prefer the raw '66-'68 era above all the rest. I get it, but I don't get it.
Dipso Dinosaurs on crack unite!




This post was modified by cream-puff-war on 2006-11-29 00:19:08

Attachment: cryptic.jpg

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: DeadDave50 Date: Nov 28, 2006 7:07am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

I feel for you,life is so tuff..........

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: patkelley Date: Nov 28, 2006 7:24am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

life looks like easy street for me my friend, but i'm just bitching/ criticizing.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: deadmax Date: Nov 28, 2006 7:51am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Don't you know they're all high when they write them anyway. Don't worry, be happy.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: kschneid Date: Nov 28, 2006 7:03am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

How is this any different than the forum? ;-)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SDH2O Date: Nov 28, 2006 11:25am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

OK, maybe we can find a way to have both. We could develop a new Show Review Form with pre-set uniform questions to rank shows.
Example:

Rate the following 1-5 with 5 being the best
Sound Quality:
Overall Performance:
Vocals:
Crowd Noise (1=overpowering, 5=silent):

Show Highlights: (could list specific songs here and why)

Personal Commentary: (those inclined could include their personal rantings about how much bud they smoked, how incredibly green the ticket stubs were under a black light, how their buddy set himself on fire with a sparkler in the parking lot, etc.)


This post was modified by SomeDarkHollow on 2006-11-28 19:25:04

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Gadwah Date: Nov 28, 2006 10:52am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

"We want the world, and we want it ....... NOW !"

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SDH2O Date: Nov 28, 2006 7:33am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

True, some reviews seem to have been written by a schizophrenic lemur on crack, but that's what you get when you let anyone who wants to say something access to this site. Who's idea was this "Freedom of Speech" thing anyway? Look at all the freaks we have to listen to now.

Pink: "Who let all of this riff-raff into the room?"

Sorry, but we do have to sift through some detritus to get to the substantive sutff, but for me I don't mind. And if a show has no useful reviews, I just stream a few songs and make up my own mind. But that's just me.


This post was modified by SomeDarkHollow on 2006-11-28 15:33:48

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: smgarcia Date: Nov 28, 2006 2:04pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

I agree with you 100%. There isn't much you can do about it, but on occasion you'll find a reviewer whom you respect, and when you do you can take their advice on concerts more than others.

I try to give good advice, but at times I write funny or non-pertinent things. Just the way it goes.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: doodle Date: Nov 28, 2006 2:14pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

Doodle's reviews are always spot on. He doesn't review often, but when he does..get it

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Arbuthnot Date: Nov 28, 2006 6:52pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

... doodle is one funny guy

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: tbrad Date: Nov 28, 2006 7:48pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

So, make the site a better place a write some good reviews!

I generally try to review shows I've been to. Since every show have a story or three, I try to relate something unique. In this way the reviews becomes a cool place to trade stories about the shows.

Or, if I hadn't been to a show, cause I was, like, three years old, but I really like the music, I try to write something creative.

You are correct though - people write some pretty unintelligable stuff when they are tripping and listening to a great DS -> Eyes.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 28, 2006 8:13pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

orchiddoctor and i had an agreement to write some good reviews on the eras we both like - but now he hates me cause i'm not a big pig fan :)

now he wants my head :(

lol

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Arbuthnot Date: Nov 28, 2006 8:24pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

dire ... heard you had a little laugh earlier with T. at my (our?) expense! Actually, the way she described it was pretty funny. But then, she does have that way.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 28, 2006 8:26pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

oh, it was most certainly at "our" expense!!! I had my "office wife" bring me in for PT - and she doesn't hold back and neither does T as you well know. My "office wife" had a few comments about me that led to you and the comments ensued. the two of them started bustin on both of us - thank god Cathy called me in before it got real ugly!! it was two versus one for a few moments - scary stuff!! sorry man - lol - i took the brunt of it, don't worry - :)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Arbuthnot Date: Nov 28, 2006 8:34pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

I know man, but i couldn't help but laugh, because when you think about it ... lol funny!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 28, 2006 8:38pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

i was like a caged wolf - lol. they had me cornered and wimpering - lol. i can bare fangs here all i want, but against two headstrong women - forget it - i'll cower faster than you can say "what??" - lol.

thank god for Cath - she saved this poor little wimpering wolf pup from those evil she-wolves

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: patkelley Date: Nov 28, 2006 8:19pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Show reviews on this site SUCK

my reviews are probably not very helpful i suppose. but they have the virtue of being readable. (they should with an Ivy league law degree!)